Current Affairs 14th July 2017




  • President has given his assent to Maharashtra Prohibition of People from Social Boycott (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Bill, 2016.
  • With  the  assent  Maharashtra has  become the first state in the country to formulate a law to punish social boycott.
  • The purpose of new law is to root out oppression carried out in name of social boycott by parallel justice delivery system (kangaroo court) by citing age old traditions, caste and religious practices.


  • kangaroo court is a judicial tribunal or assembly that ignores recognized standards of law or justice, and often carries little or no official standing in the territory within which it resides.
  • Prejudicial bias of the decision-maker or from political decree are among the most publicized causes of kangaroo courts.
  • Such proceedings are often held to give the appearance of a fair and just trial, even though the verdict has in reality already been decided before the trial has begun.




  • India has contributed an additional $1 million to India-UN Development Partnership Fund.
  • The Fund was launched to support sustainable development projects across the developing world.


  • India and the UN Office for South- South Cooperation have launched a partnership fund on June 9  that will support sustainable development projects across the developing world.
  • The India-UN Development Partnership Fund will implement country-level projects that are catalytic towards achieving the 17 sustainable development goals of the 2030 Agenda.
  • The collaborative initiative is aimed at reducing poverty and hunger, improving health, education and equality, and expanding access to clean water, energy and livelihoods.
  •  Managed by UNOSSC, the India-UN Development Partnership Fund will support Southern-owned and led, demand-driven, and transformational sustainable development projects across the developing world.
  •  Focusing on Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS), United Nations agencies will implement the Fund’s projects in close collaboration with partnering governments.
  • ‘Climate Early Warning System in Pacific Island Countries’ was announced as the first project to receive support from the new partnership. The project was formulated by India and the United Nations Development Programme in consultation with the Governments of the Cook Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, the Solomon Islands and Tonga. The project will increase resilience to natural disasters in these seven Pacific island countries.




  • Mainstreams South-South cooperation across the UN system and throughout the international development community by leveraging its global reach as well as its policy and institutional capacities to assist UN agencies and developing countries in strengthening their South-South cooperation capacities.
  • It works to support countries’ efforts to manage, design and implement South-South cooperation policies and initiatives through the identification, sharing and transfer of successful Southern-generated development solutions.
  •  It also advocates for Support to South-South initiatives, including through its organization of the UN Day for South-South cooperation.
  • Engages a wide range of partners, including Member States, UN entities, multilateral bodies and private-sector and civil society organizations in order to provide the most efficient, effective and comprehensive support for South-South cooperation.
  • Enables countries of the South – emerging, middle income and least developed – to work together to use their wealth of resources, tangible and intangible, in support of national, regional and global development efforts.



  • India has been ranked 116 out of 157 nations on the 2017 Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) Index.
  • The Index ranks countries based on their performance across the 17 SDGs.
  • Top  Countries- Sweden (1st), Denmark (2nd), Finland (3rd)


  • The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), officially known as Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development is a set of 17 “Global Goals” with 169 targets between them.
  • The goals are contained in paragraph 54 United Nations Resolution A/RES/70/1 of 25 September 2015.
  • The Resolution is a broader intergovernmental agreement that acts as the Post 2015 Development Agenda (successor to the  Millennium Development Goals).

The 17 SDGs are listed below-

  • Goal 1: No Poverty

  • Goal 2: Zero Hunger

  • Goal 3: Good Health and Well-being

  • Goal 4: Quality Education

  • Goal 5: Gender Equality

  • Goal 6: Clean Water and Sanitation

  • Goal 7: Affordable and Clean Energy

  • Goal 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth

  • Goal 9: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

  • Goal 10: Reduced Inequalities

  • Goal 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities

  • Goal 12: Responsible Consumption and Production

  • Goal 13: Climate Action

  • Goal 14: Life Below Water

  • Goal 15: Life on Land

  • Goal 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

  • Goal 17: Partnerships for the Goals