Nagalim plan

  • The NSCN-IM (National Socialist Council of Nagaland -Isak-Muivah)has been fighting for ‘Greater Nagaland’ or Nagalim — it wants to extend Nagaland’s borders by including Naga-dominated areas in neighbouring Assam, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh, to unite 1.2 million Nagas.
  • The map of Greater Nagalim on the NSCN(IM) website comprising “all Naga-inhabited areas” shows a 1,20,000 sq km sprawl across the Northeast and Myanmar.
  • It covers a sizeable portion of Assam’s Tinsukia, Charaideo, Sivasagar, Jorhat, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao districts; all of Longding, Tirap, Changlang, Lohit and Namsai districts in Arunachal; and large parts of Manipur’s Ukhrul, Senapati, Chandel and Tamenglong districts.
  • The area of Nagaland state is only 16,527 sq km, a fraction of the NSCN(IM)’s “Greater Nagalim”.

Historical Background

  • “Naga territory” existed with “Full Sovereignty” before the advent of the British colonial expansionism in 1881.
  • In 1947, the people of India and the Naga territory became independent from British rule.
  • As early as January 10, 1929, Naga had informed the British government that they would not join the Union of India.
  • Nagaland declared independence on 14th of August 1947, one day before India gets independence from the British.
  • After India regain sovereignty from British colonial rule on 15th-August-1947, India included Nagaland which was previously known as Naga Hills (an independent nation) as part of Assam.
  • The existing Nagaland state is only a small part of Naga Hills and huge portion of Naga Hills was/is placed in Manipur, Assam and Arunachal.
  • The land of Nagas was divided among two countries, India and Myanmar.