1 . National Voters’ Day

National Voters’ Day or Rashtriya Matdata Diwas is celebrated on January 25 every year.


The significance of National Voters’ Day is to encourage more young voters to take part in the political process.It is a day to celebrate the right to vote and vibrant democracy of India.

Through National Voters’ Day, the Election Commission’s objective is to increase enrolment of voters, especially of the newly eligible ones.


The day was first celebrated in 2011 to mark Election Commission’s Foundation Day.

Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation

To increase people’s participation in the electoral process, the Election Commission of India adopted a Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation strategy in 2009 and it got reflected in a range of policy initiatives, programmes and activities. It’s popularly known as SVEEP.

Election Commission

The Election Commission of India is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering election processes in the country and founded in 1950. It administers elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, state legislatures and the offices of the President and Vice President in India.


2 . Delhi Declaration of the ASEAN-India Commemorative Summit 2018

Delhi Declaration was signed on 25 January 2018 to commemorate the 25th Anniversary of ASEAN-India Dialogue Relations under the theme of “Shared Values, Common Destiny”.

It included –

1. Further strengthen and deepen the ASEAN-India Strategic Partnership for mutual benefit, across the whole spectrum of political-security, economic, socio-cultural and development cooperation, through further strengthening of relevant institutional mechanisms and broadening of the network between government institutions, parliamentarians, business circles, scientists, academicians, think-tanks, media, youth and other stakeholders, for the building of a peaceful, harmonious, caring and sharing community in our regions.

2. Continue to exert efforts and cooperate towards the full, effective and timely implementation of the Plan of Action to Implement the ASEAN-India Partnership for Peace, Progress and Shared Prosperity (2016-2020).

3. Further enhance high-level engagement and cooperation within the existing framework of the ASEAN-India Dialogue Partnership and ASEAN-led mechanisms, such as the ASEAN-India Summit, the East Asia Summit (EAS), the Post Ministerial Conference with India (PMC+1), the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), the ASEAN Defence Ministers’ Meeting (ADMM) Plus, and other ASEAN-India ministerial/sectoral mechanisms.

4. Continue to support and contribute to ASEAN integration and ASEAN Community building process, towards the realisation of the ASEAN Community Vision 2025.


3 . Himachal Pradesh statehood Day

It is  celebrated on 25 January. It was on this day in 1971 that Himachal Pradesh became the 18th state of India.

Historical Background

In earlier times, the area was variously divided among smaller kingdoms, such as those of Chamba, Bilaspur, Bhagal and Dhami. After the Gurkha War of 1815–1816, it became part of the British India.

Himachal Pradesh was established in 1948 as a Chief Commissioner’s Province within the Union of India.  The province comprised the hill districts around Shimla and southern hill areas of the former Punjab region.

Himachal became a part C state on 26 January 1950 with the implementation of the Constitution of India. Himachal Pradesh became a Union Territory on 1 November 1956.

On 18 December 1970 the State of Himachal Pradesh Act was passed by Parliament and the new state came into being on 25 January 1971. Thus Himachal emerged as the eighteenth state of the Indian Union.


4 . ‘Bharat Parv’ 26th To 31st January, 2018 Red Fort, Delhi 

As part of the Republic Day 2018 celebrations, the ‘Bharat Parv’ event is being organized by the Government of India at the Red Fort, Delhi from 26th to 31st January, 2018.


The prime objective of organizing the event is to generate a patriotic mood, promote the rich cultural diversity of the country and to ensure wider participation of the general public.

Nodal Ministry and Events

The Ministry of Tourism has been designated as the nodal Ministry for the event, the highlights of which include Display of Republic Day Parade Tableaux, Performances by the Armed Forces Bands , a Multi-Cuisine Food Court, Craft Mela, Cultural Performances from different regions of the country and Photo Exhibition by the Directorate of Advertising and Visual Publicity (DAVP).


5 . Prime Minister’s Shram Award for 2016 

The Government of India has announced the Prime Minister’s Shram Awards for the year 2016 to be awarded to 50 workers employed in the Departmental undertakings and PSU’s of the Central and State Governments and Private Sector units employing 500 or more workers.

Although, the total number of Shram Awards conferred this year are 32 but the number of workers receiving the Awards are 50 including 3 women. 34 workers from Public Sector and 16 workers from Private Sectors have won the Awards.

About Shram Awards

Ministry of Labour and Employment announces Prime Minister’s Shram Award every year.

Shram Awards are given in four categories namely ‘Shram Ratna Award’, ‘Shram Bhushan Award’, ‘Shram Vir/Shram Virangana’ and ‘Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards’.

These awards are given to the workers in the Public Sector Undertakings, Departmental Undertakings of the Central and the State Governments and Private Sector units employing 500 or more workers in recognition of their distinguished performance, innovative ability, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.


6 . Padma Awards 2018 announced 

President of India has approved conferment of 85 Padma Awards including two duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one) . The list comprises 3 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 73 Padma Shri Awards. 14 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 16 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 3 Posthumous awardees.

Padma Vibhushan


Sl. No Name Field State
1. Shri Illaiyaraja Art-Music Tamil Nadu
2. Shri Ghulam Mustafa Khan Art-Music Maharashtra
3. Shri Parameswaran Parameswaran Literature and Education Kerala


Padma Bhushan


Sl. No Name Field State
4. Shri Pankaj Advani Sports- Billiards/Snooker Karnataka
5. Shri Philipose Mar Chrysostom Others-Spiritualism Kerala
6. Shri Mahendra Singh Dhoni Sports-Cricket Jharkhand
7. Shri Alexander Kadakin


Public Affairs Russia


8. Shri Ramachandran Nagaswamy Others-Archaeology Tamil Nadu
9. Shri Ved Prakash Nanda


Literature and Education USA
10. Shri Laxman Pai Art-Painting Goa
11. Shri Arvind Parikh Art-Music Maharashtra
12. Ms. Sharda Sinha Art-Music Bihar
About Padma Awards
  • Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
  • The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.
  • ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.
  • The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.
  • These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.