Champions of the Earth

The Champions of the Earth award is the UN’s highest environmental recognition celebrating exceptional figures from the public and private sectors and from civil society, whose actions have had a transformative positive impact on the environment.The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) established Champions of the Earth in 2005.

Typically, five to seven laureates are selected annually.  No financial awards are conferred. This awards programme is a successor to UNEP’s Global 500 Roll of Honour.In 2017, the program was expanded to include Young Champions of the Earth – a forward looking prize for talented innovators, 18 to 30, who demonstrate outstanding potential to create positive environmental impact.

The Champions of the Earth are organised in partnership with Weibo – China’s leading social media outlet for people to create, share and discover content online. Champions of the Earth recognizes laureates in the following categories:

1 . Lifetime Achievement
2 . Policy Leadership
3 . Action and Inspiration
4 . Entrepreneurial Vision
5 . Science and Innovation

2018 Champions of the Earth Awards

The winners of the 2018 Champions of the Earth Awards are:

1 . Joan Carling – lifetime achievement award.
2 . Beyond Meat and Impossible Foods – are jointly recognized in the Science and Innovation category.
3 . Emmanuel Macron, President of France and Narendra Modi, Prime Minister of India, are recognized in the- Policy Leadership category.
4 . China’s Zhejiang’s Green Rural Revival Programme – is awarded for Inspiration and Action.
5 . Cochin International Airport – award for Entrepreneurial Vision.