Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

It is an Eurasian political, economic, and
security organization formed in 2001.


It is headquartered in Beijing.

Shanghai Five

SCO owes its origin to its predecessor Shanghai
Five (a multilateral forum founded by 5 countries China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan in Shanghai in 1996).

“Shanghai Spirit”

Its driving philosophy is known as the “Shanghai Spirit” which emphasizes harmony, working by consensus, respect for other cultures, non-interference in the internal affairs of others, and non-alignment.

Member states

SCO comprises eight-member states, India,
Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyz Republic, Pakistan,
Russian, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

2018 year meet was India’s first participation in
the summit as a full-time member. India, along with Pakistan, became full-time members during the Astana summit in Kazakhstan in June 2017.

Observer states

SCO has 4 observer states – Afghanistan , Belarus ,  Iran and  Mongolia.

Dialogue partners –

SCO has 6 dialogue partners.

Organisational structure

Structure of the SCO.png

Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS)

It was established under the aegis of SCO in 2002.
It is mandated for counter terrorism activities,
collecting military intelligence and security of the
SCO region.The Executive Committee of the RATS is the permanent body of the SCO based in Tashkent.

Exercise SCO Peace Mission 

It is conducted biennially for SCO member states.

For India’s relation with SCO , refer link: