Asia/Pacific Group on Money Laundering (APG)

The Asia/Pacific Group on Money Laundering (also known as the APG) is the FATF (Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering) -style regional body for the Asia-Pacific region. It is an inter-governmental (international) organisation founded in 1997 in Bangkok, Thailand.

The APG has two Co-Chairs: one permanent and one two-year term rotating Co-Chair. The permanent Co-Chair is Australia.

APG secretariat

The APG secretariat is located at Sydney, Australia.

APG Members

As of August 2018, the APG has 41 member jurisdictions.

Jurisdictions that join the APG, either as members or as observers, must commit to implement the international standards against money laundering, the financing of terrorism and proliferation financing (WMD), in particular the Recommendations of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF).

Role of APG

The APG has a number of roles as stated in its strategic plan including:

1 . Assessing APG members’ compliance with the international anti-money laundering/combating the financing of terrorism (AML/CFT) standards through a programme of mutual evaluations;
2 . Supporting implementation of the international AML/CFT standards, including coordinating multi-lateral and bi-lateral technical assistance and training with donor countries and agencies;
3 . Conducting research and analysis into money laundering and terrorist financing trends and methods;
4 . Participating in, and co-operating with, the international AML/CFT network and contributing to global policy development of the standards through associate membership in the FATF; and
5 . Engaging with the private sector to raise awareness in the region on AML/CFT issues.